Why clothing sizes don’t matter.

dreamstime_s_18031158

It’s happened to a lot of us. We go shopping and find something we really love. We pick up our size and rush to the changing room excited to try it on…but it won’t go over the bust. It won’t go past our thighs. If you’re anything like me, this is a real knock to your self esteem.

I found myself in this situation earlier this afternoon whilst I was shopping for new trousers for my job interview next week. I was mortified. Instead of going out to pick up a larger size I avoided looking in the mirrors that surrounded me, trying to push away the thoughts that I looked bulgier than this morning. I returned the clothes to the shop assistant and all but stormed out the shop.

After reacting like this, I remembered the last time this had happened. It would have been a few years ago. Years before I heard about the concept of self love and treating yourself right. I realised how silly I had been. The size of my clothes don’t define me and are meaningless anyway.

Luckily I managed to find a nice black skirt for my interview (in a charity shop for £1, I am very proud of myself) and now I just need a blouse. If that blouse doesn’t fit me well even though it’s my ‘size’, I’m going to at myself in the mirror and say ‘let’s get the size up.’

Look after yourself,

Nikki

Leave a Reply

